Stuck points in developing an improved workflow (new user)

I came to a point earlier this year where I realized I am spending SO much time navigating through various folders in the Finder and forget about key resources buried in various places. I also came to realize how terrible Microsoft Word is (nothing stands the test of time, terrible with long documents, etc.) Since, I’ve been on a mission to develop effective workflows to save time and stay organized. I’ve decided to transition to a plain text note-taking strategy (no more Word). I’ve downloaded and been trying to understand how several different apps can help me recreate my electronic workflow and storage system. I’m looking for feedback about a few stuck points I have been unable to resolve on my own so far.

Important caveat: I am not a coder or programmer and don’t know how to script! I’ve figured out Markdown, but that’s pretty much it. (I’m an academic in psychology.)

Set up: Macbook pro (upgraded memory and SSD, dual external monitors, treated as desktop); ipad pro (this is what I take on the go instead my macbook, which stays stationary); iphone

Apps that I’ve invested some time/money on and might be useful:
DEVONthink Pro Office & DEVONthink ToGo: I purchased but haven’t set up yet, but learned the basic, waiting for Mojave release due to issues with Mojave beta
Scrivener: I’m already obsessed!
nvAlt + 1writer: plain text note-taking on ipad and mac; synced on icloud
Keyboard maestro: Free trial downloaded but am not sure if I have the coding skills necessary to make that a worthwhile purchase.
Zotero: This was the one efficient part of my workflow that was already established. I’m not willing to give it up either. I use Zotfile to auto-rename and move all of my research material stored in Zotero to specified finder folders on my mac. I have nearly 4000 PDFs and other items indexed and referenced in Zotero but stored externally in Finder.

STUCK POINT 1: