Ordering Groups

I’m very new to DTP, so I assume I’m making a newbie mistake, but for the life of me I can’t figure out how to order (re-order) the groups in the three pane view. I can double-click on the containing group and re-order the sub-groups in the window that pops open, but that order doesn’t seem to show up in the groups area of the three pane view.

I’ve converted all groups and sub-groups to “unsorted”, and done everything else I can think of… Essentially, the sub-groups are the sections of an article I’m writing, and I can’t get them into the order I need them in for the article. I suspect there is a simple thing I’m not doing. Any help would be most appreciated.

ciao

The Horizontal Split (“Outline”) view will let you do that. So will the Vertical Split view. Just open your project group in its own view window and set that view to Vertical or Horizontal Split.

Yep. This is particularly irritating because DTP (like every other app I know) is completely ignorant of a recent invention called Roman numerals. Admittedly, non-techies might find the system is a bit difficult to grasp…

However, if you (or anyone coming across this post) use Roman numerals and want your IX’s showing up between your VIII’s and X’s, an irritating kludge is available via Unicode. The following are Unicode characters that will be sorted correctly in DTP and other apps (though I haven’t tested). Just copy them into a document and use them to name your groups or whatever depends on the system.

Ⅰ Ⅱ Ⅲ Ⅳ Ⅴ Ⅵ Ⅶ Ⅷ Ⅸ Ⅹ Ⅺ Ⅻ Ⅼ Ⅽ Ⅾ Ⅿ
ⅰ ⅱ ⅲ ⅳ ⅴ ⅵ ⅶ ⅷ ⅸ ⅹ ⅺ ⅻ ⅼ ⅽ ⅾ ⅿ

Wow, this is useful for old fashioned numbering. It took me a while to figure out that each these roman numerals are extra unicode characters, but they work in DT.
Hm. Kalisphoenix, is there any other way to insert them, other than copy / paste ?