Import, Index and overall scope of DT

I am a nearly new user, about to get the pro version. Planning on Pro, not seeing need for Office yet, I have a SnapScan scanner that I will be using much more in the future, but I see DT as easily importing from or indexing a folder (the scanned to folder) and so direct import on scan seems unnecessary at this point.

I have been looking at the demo and the help files for a while now. I Have my own challenges which I will get to in a moment but my questions is, how does it work for others to import vs index files? It worries me to import ALL my files into a proprietary db. I am a writer and a photographer. Is DT a safe place to import my picture files? Or is DT just for text, web and basically… Research?

As a proprietary DB, if I did import all my files and deleted the originals, how are my files available in the future? Sometimes apps fail or some day in the future I may not upgrade DT and then what, can I still access my files that were imported? I have been a Mac user since the mid 80s, sometimes apps to stop being supported, it happens. Of course I may not need to ever do this, but I Want to make sure that I can if I want to.

It seems like DT will work better if I import my files, is that right? I can edit them directly, etc. But, I also use scrivener and Word for my writing. And I use DTP/Art/Layout programs for design projects. I am still assuming that DT is a huge organizational tool for the Mac. Did I miss anything? Is this going to work like the Finder as in, I can import my whole drive essentially? OR just the Documents but not the Microsoft DB (just did that and lost Outlooks files).

Other than making sure my indexed files remain in the same place and that I May not want to take my whole drive to go, why is import a smarter idea than indexing?

Still trying to get my head around this program.