DTTG 2.0 .. Vaporware?

I’ve been using DevonTHINK for many years now, it’s a great product. But it’s achilles heel is DTTG 1.x, which is, to be blunt, a feeble app. With other products offering sync capabilities between OSX/iOS that leave DT/DTTG truly in the dust, the only reason I’ve held off on switching is a hope that DTTG 2.0 will fix this untenable situation.

But we’re now well into year 2 (3?) of waiting for this product … and there is no sign of it. Not a whisper. Yes, I’m aware DT “doesn’t comment on unreleased products”, but it’s past that excuse now … it’s time DT came clean to the community. I have to make decisions for myself and the others in my company who use DT, and telling them “don’t worry, it will get fixed one day … maybe … I hope” is starting to wear thin for them and me.

As I said, DevonTHiNK itself is great, but without a decent iOS app it’s value in the “post PC” age is diminishing rapidly for my team, and I suspect many others as well. I don’t mind waiting on a product release if I know it’s going to do what I need, but right now there is NO information at all and NO release dates or even discussion. I can’t base my tool decisions on vaporware like that.

–Tim

The Sync procedure of the next generation of DEVONthink To Go is based on the next-generation of the Sync procedure for DEVONthink on Macs.

While development of other aspects of DEVONthink To Go 2.x are moving along, the release of that app will not happen until the new Sync procedure is complete.

Because DEVONthink syncs may deal with thousands or tens of thousands of documents and their associated metadata, the many variables that may crop up during a sync session require attention in order to maintain data security. There are different variables, for example, in sync via WiFi and sync via the Internet, using a cloud vehicle such as Dropbox. That requires much more attention to detail and testing than sync of a small set of files, which is much easier.